Welcome to our Department

The Department of English has a long glorious history. It was established with the mission of imparting knowledge of English with its richness of Literature, past and present ,and inculcating the value of critical reading and effective writing, since the very inception of the College . In 1954, Degree level teaching began in English. Shri G. Chakravarty, who retired in 1985, was one of the founder teachers of the Department. Shri K.N.Sahay, the founder Principal of the college and also a man of English Literature guided the functioning of the Department. Shri Muneswar Prasad and Shri L.M. Bhaduri joined the Department and rendered their services for quite some time. Shri H. Narayan joined the Department of English in the year 1957. He later joined A.S.College,Deoghar as the Principal. Shri Lalit Bhushan Prasad, Dr. K.K. Bhattacharya and Shri Himanshu ShekharJha joined the Department and served for a long time. Dr. Binodanand Jha also joined the Department in 1964 and continued till 1999. He later joined the P.G. Department of English,S.K. University, Dumka as the Head. Shri R.N. Roy joined the Department of English as a lecturer in 1971 along with ShriShivanandaJha. While Shri L. Sharma joined the Department in 1973, Shri N.K. Thakur joined in 1975. Dr.S.N. Jha assumed the charge of the Department as the Head when Shri R.N. Roy retired from his services. Later, in the year 2017 when Dr. Jha superannuated Prof. RanaPratap Singh became the Head. Dr. Om PrakashSinha, with a deep knowledge of Linguistics took the charge of Headship after the retirement of Prof. RanaPratap Singh. At present Dr. Anjani Sharma is the Head of the Department .Shri Lalit Kumar Deo who was appointed as Assistant Professor also teaches English in the Department. The Department of English is deeply engaged in publishing books and articles in journals of National and International repute. The department organizes seminars, dramas and lecture series from time to time. The Department is also proud to announce that many of the students who have passed out with flying colours are well placed in their life.

Course duration

UG 3 years - six semester and PG 2 years - Four Semester

Available Seats

UG - 150 / PG - 120

Mode of Teaching

Online as well as offline

Dr.Anjani Sharma

Head of Department of English

Shri Lalit Deo

Asst. Prof at Department of English

Syllabus for UG